5th Grade Teacher is Also a Master Customizer and Creator of 1:6 Scale “Natural Environment” Props, Structures and Dioramas For G.I. Joes

Angelo D reveals how he manages to store extra figures and props above and below his current diorama display table. Absolutely ingenious! (Photo: Angelo )

Angelo D’Annibale of New York reveals how he utilizes a wide and DEEP display table (much like a model railroader) to arrange and display two levels of indoor dioramas, while simultaneously storing extra 1:6 scale figures, vehicles and props on the shelf up above. Ingenious! (Photo: Angelo D’Annibale)

One of D'Annibale's handcrafted bamboo cages works perfectly with this "Capture of the Pygmy Gorilla" scene. Outstanding! (Photo: Angelo D'Annibale)

One of D’Annibale’s handcrafted bamboo cages works perfectly with this “Capture of the Pygmy Gorilla” scene. Outstanding! (Photo: Angelo D’Annibale)

“What an incentive positive feedback is!”

—Angelo D’Annibale

Years of Collecting Frustration Finally Give Way to an Adulthood Full of Creative Achievement

Many of the master customizers profiled here on The Joe Report stand out not only for their expertise, creativity and artistic prowess (they ALL have those in spades), but also for their uncanny ability to incorporate natural “found” objects and materials into the creation of ultra-realistic 1:6 scale miniature dioramas. Rather than buy everything pre-made and display something everyone else already has, they prefer to put their imaginations and creativity to the ultimate test—customization.

If you’re unaware, examples of found materials would include such items as scraps of wood, rope, metal, riverbed gravel, boulders, stones, sticks, straw, sand and even good ol’ fashioned dirt. Yes, we said DIRT. Remember when playing down in the dirt seemed as natural as breathing? Well, for many GIjOE fans, customizers, and kitbashers of 1:6 scale, that feeling has never gone away!

A "recycled" child's backyard swingset, once repainted and detailed is transformed into a stunningly realistic 1:6 scale WWII bridge photo op. WOW! (Photo: Angelo D'Annibale)

Angelo’s “recycled” backyard swing set, once repainted and detailed, is miraculously transformed into an uber-realistic 1:6 scale WWII bridge—and a GREAT place for photos. (Photo: Angelo D’Annibale)

What? Don't you have your own realistic 1:6 foot-bridge? If not, why not MAKE one? Look at what Angelo did with simple scraps. WOW! (Photo: Angelo D'Annibale)

What? You say you don’t you have your own realistic-looking 1:6 scale foot-bridge? Why not MAKE one, just like Angelo? WOW! (Photo: Angelo D’Annibale)

But of course, there’s nothing wrong with utilizing modern or “artificial” materials as well, including items such as styrofoam blocks, paper towel rolls, sheets of styrene plastic, tin cans or any cheap “junk” you can find at a local dollar store. In fact, developing a keen eye for what qualifies as usable 1:6 scale props and building materials is one of the defining traits and hallmarks of a budding “master miniaturist.”

The outstanding customizer we’re profiling today is Angelo D’Annibale of upstate New York, who has really begun to make a name for himself in the 1:6 scale community. Photos his unique “natural” creations have been setting fan forums on fire and prompting many to attempt to duplicate his distinctive handcrafting techniques. We tracked Angelo down recently and asked him to share his backstory regarding his GIjOE collecting addiction, customization methods and display techniques. He generously replied:

“I was born in 1969, so I missed the heyday of GIjOE. By the time I was old enough to understand and play with GIjOEs, the 12″ figures were very hard to find. I recall many afternoons watching in horror as my older cousins tortured poor Joe and used fireworks to maim and disfigure the toy I so badly wanted.”

What an evocative, realistic scene. Superb camera placement and use of perpective, Angelo! At first glance, you'd swear this was a real horse and rider on a REAL bridge. (Photo: Angelo D'Annibale)

What an evocative, realistic scene. Superb camera placement and use of perspective, Angelo! At first glance, you’d swear this was a real horse and rider on a REAL bridge. (Photo: Angelo D’Annibale)

“I was determined to have one of my own. Since my cousins littered the grass and sidewalk with disembodied Joe parts, I was able to collect the results of their carnage, one piece at a time. And like a young Dr. Frankenstein, I’d soon pieced together my own, 12-inch, 1:6 scale ‘FrankenJoe.’ In 1978, my family made an overseas trip to Italy. We needed to bring some gifts for my male cousins, so we went shopping at a local Schenectady ‘Two Guys’ department store. Unfortunately, GIjOEs were absent from most store shelves by that time and any hope I had of finding one on the store shelves was non-existent.”

Add another bridge and you double the detail and level of realism. Superb! (Photo: Angelo D'Annibale)

D’Annibale’s custom bridges, roadways, vehicles and figures create unique worlds of imaginative play. Imagine the possibilities! (Photo: Angelo D’Annibale)

“I searched for something that would be small enough to place in a suitcase, yet cool enough for my young Italian cousins. As I rounded the next aisle, I was stunned when I saw what I thought was a figment of my imagination— AT G.I.JOEs! It couldn’t be! I had to be dreaming! But no (thankfully), I wasn’t dreaming. There were indeed, several AT figures, in their coffin boxes(!), just waiting for me up there on the shelves. I could hardly contain my excitement! My parents agreed to buy them, they fit perfectly in my suitcase and they definitely had that “cool” factor I had hoped for.”

Annidale proves you don't need a fancy "art studio" or garage to create in 1:6 scale, just desire—and TALENT! (Photo: Angelo D'Annibale)

D’Annibale proves you don’t need a fancy “art studio” or garage to work in 1:6 scale, just desire, determination—and TALENT! (Photo: Angelo D’Annibale)

A closeup of Angelo's new

This closeup of Angelo’s newest structure reveals the use of appropriately sized pieces of bamboo, a variety of wood scraps, string, scaled maps, photos and other props. WOW! (Photo: Angelo D’Annibale)

Cheap "dollar store" items such as skulls and alien monsters can also be painted and detailed to work perfectly in D'Annibale's dioramas. (Photo: Angelo D'Annibale)

Cheap “dollar store” items such as skulls and alien monsters can also be painted and detailed to work perfectly in D’Annibale’s dioramas. (Photo: Angelo D’Annibale)

“My lucky cousins in Italy (Sergio, Rocco and Victorio) all got their GIjOE gifts, but I didn’t get one! My mother told me, ‘These are for family. Not for you.’ I was devastated. Here had been a perfect chance to own my very own, brand-new-in-the-box GIjOEs, but now it appeared that dream would NEVER come true. Of course, two days after arriving in Italy, those new Joes had all lost their pistols, clothing, and one had even plunged to his ultimate demise from the third story of our apartment complex onto the top of my uncle’s car. After that experience, I vowed that I would someday own my own GIjOEs and that I would take VERY good care of them.”

Inspired by the ammunition cart by Dragon (on the right), D'Annibale decided to make one of his own (left). OutSTANDING work, Angelo! Which one do YOU prefer? (Photo: Angelo D'Annibale)

Inspired by the ammunition cart made by Dragon (above, right), D’Annibale decided to make his own (above, left). OutSTANDING work, Angelo! Which one do YOU prefer? (Photo: Angelo D’Annibale)

The comic that "started it all" for Angelo. Issue #5 of Marvel's GIjOE. (Photo: Angelo D'Annibale)

Angelo has a very special attachment to this specific issue of Marvel’s “GIjOE” comic book series and credits it with reigniting his love for the action figure line as he entered adulthood. (Photo: Angelo D’Annibale)

“Fast forward 4 years: My parents enjoyed taking long Sunday drives up to Lake George. The car ride was usually boring to me, so I asked for a comic book to read from the local Del Gros Deli convenient store (Sgt. Rock, Sgt. Fury, and The Haunted Tank were all my favorites). That particular Sunday, though, something else caught my eye: a new title showing a tank moving through a park, with men running from it with the name ‘GIjOE’ in bold letters at the top of the cover. I grabbed it and savored every page as we drove to Lake George that day. When I finished reading, I realized that this was the 5th issue. I had missed 4 already! Finding those back issues took some time, but I eventually managed it and purchased every issue from that day forward. Even while I was away at college in Central New York, my mom would go to a comic book store and buy me the latest issue.”

Angelo's creativity doesn't stop at structures or custom figures. He also enjoys building and detailing custom 1:6 scale vehicles, such as this superb German halftrack. AchTUNG! (Photo: Angelo D'Annibale)

Angelo’s creativity doesn’t end with structures and custom figures. He also enjoys building and detailing 1:6 scale vehicles, such as this superb German halftrack. AchTUNG! (Photo: Angelo D’Annibale)

How about a custom truck, converted from a 21stC Patton staff car? If you want it, BUILD IT! (Photo: Angelo D'Annibale)

How about this cool, 1:6 scale custom truck, up-converted from a 21st Century Toys Patton Staff Car? Superb work, Angelo! (Photo: Angelo D’Annibale)

“I can still remember the comic’s 6th issue in particular. It has such a cool cover! It depicted a medic (Doc) sitting behind a Snow Trooper (SnowJob) on a snowmobile. I thought how cool it would be if they actually made these Joes into toys. Well, the next Sunday, we were at Mohawk Mall and I (of course) had to visit the Kay B toy store. While walking down the action figure aisle, what did I see? A GIjOE ‘Polar Battle Bear!’ That SAME snowmobile on the cover!”

This closeup of Angelo's halftrack reveals he also chose to detail the vehicle's interior with weapons, a floor mat, radioman's chair and assorted other details. (Photo: Angelo D'Annibale)

This closeup of the interior of Angelo’s halftrack reveals he detailed it with weapons, tripod, ammunition, wooden floor mat, radioman’s chair and other details. EXCELLENT! (Photo: Angelo D’Annibale)

Angelo briefly collected the 3.75" version of GIjOE but soon realized it limitations and refocused his efforts on 1:6 scale. (Photo: Angelo D'Annibale)

Angelo also collected 3.75″ GIjOEs (his first, shown above), but eventually refocused his efforts on finding the original 12″ versions. (Photo: Angelo D’Annibale)

“Thus began my renewed obsession with collecting GIjOE toys. I collected many of the new 3.75″ figures, vehicles and accessories, even when I was getting too old to enjoy imaginative play. I simply had to have them. I had missed out on collecting Joes the first time around. I wasn’t going to let that happen again.

But then interestingly, I did lose interest. Those new GIjOE weapons were all pink(?) and orange and blue, and the 3.75″ figures and vehicles just didn’t have the same appeal to me as the original 12-inch versions. It almost seemed (to me) as if Hasbro was trying to end the GIjOE line. So eventually, I just stopped collecting. To make matters worse, the Marvel GIjOE comic series had ended too!”

asdf

Angelo created this outstanding (and unusual) outdoor diorama with a clever combination of dollar store tiki poles, plastic plants, Mayan calendar disk, working waterfall and…an egg? Yes, here, Joe prepares to examine the mysterious orb before whatever giant creature laid it returns and stomps him into the ground. Both frightening—and WEIRD at the same time. Look out, Joe! (Photo: Angelo D’Annibale)

SUCCESS! Angelo's first 12-inch GIjOE was this veteran Adventurer who now mans the lofty perch atop the AT training tower. Go, JOE! (Photo: Angelo D'Annibale)

SUCCESS! Angelo’s first 12-inch GIjOE was this veteran Adventurer who now mans the lofty perch atop D’Annibale’s AT training tower. Go, JOE! (Photo: Angelo D’Annibale)

“A few years later as I was walking through the mall (again), I stopped by the Kay Bee Toy Store, just for old times’ sake. Sure enough, as I rounded the corner I saw what looked like a 12″ GIjOE. Yes! But while the lettering on the package said GIjOE, the packaging and figure inside seemed…odd. Something just wasn’t right. First of all, Joe’s hands were HUGE. He had a giant, oversized weapon that made weird noises and lit up. And his face…well, it just wasn’t the same. His body was built more like…a Barbie…with little to no articulation. ‘That’s pretty lame,’ I thought to myself. But I ended up buying one anyway. As we all know now, that particular Joe’s name was ‘Duke.’ But he wasn’t the Duke from the 3.75″ line, nor was he a 12″ GIjOE (at least like the Joes I remembered).”

The lower-level diorama currently on display in Angelo's Joe Room is this superb homage to the Battle of the Bulge. (Photo: Angelo D'Annibale)

The lower-level diorama currently on display in Angelo’s Joe Room is this amazing homage to the famous WWII battle known as The Battle of the Bulge. (Photo: Angelo D’Annibale)

One of Angelo's upper-level dioramas features this exciting Search for the Mummy's Tomb set-up. (Photo: Angelo D'Annibale)

One of Angelo’s upper-level dioramas features this exciting Secret of the Mummy’s Tomb set-up. (Photo: Angelo D’Annibale)

“More figures from the unusual “Hall of Fame” line soon appeared, but I simply had no interest in them. However, later on, when other toy companies began getting into the 1:6 scale market, such as 21st Century Toys (and their awesome WWII stuff) and Dragon (even better detail, articulation and realism), I quickly developed a WWII action figure obsession that has continued to this day.

During WWII, my Uncle John had fought in the Ardennes. He fought with the 28th Infantry Division and his weapon was an 81mm mortar. I would talk to my uncle about the war and he would tell me stories. Some were sad, some were funny, and some were downright SCARY. For example…”

Angelo's Uncle John as he appeared during WWII. (Photo: Angelo D'Annibale)

Angelo’s Uncle John as he appeared during WWII. (Photo: Angelo D’Annibale)

“One tale I remember quite vividly was about how one night while asleep, he was awoken by hands that were feeling about his boots. He looked up and was startled to see a large Moroccan soldier holding a BIG knife—and smiling.

The soldier was identifying Uncle John (in the dark) as an Allied soldier by feeling the leggings and laces of his boots. If the boots had been the smooth leather type of a Nazi…then the end of his story would not have been so pleasant!

Inspired, I chose to create my first 1:6 scale diorama about my uncle. It would be for his birthday and I wanted to give him something different—something SPECIAL.”

Angelo's custom figure and diorama of his Uncle John, preparing to load a mortar round into his weapon. SUPERB! (Photo: Angelo D'Annibale)

Angelo’s custom figure and diorama of his Uncle John, preparing to load a mortar round into his weapon. How great is THIS?! (Photo: Angelo D’Annibale)

“I selected a Dragon figure that I thought looked like him during the war, found a mortar that could almost pass for an 81mm mortar and used an old picture frame to build a mortar pit. To finish it all off, I added real twigs, straw and sand using techniques I’d seen and read about in various military modeling magazines (see photo at right).

I began to focus on collecting WWII figures and vehicles of the European Theater and quickly amassed quite a sizable collection. Soon, I had TOO many things and nowhere to display them. And I’m the sort of collector who’s always felt that toys left in their boxes would have a sad, ‘unloved’ existence. Something had to be done!”

With Angelo's ultra-wide display table, he can even accommodate an entire Italian piazza, or courtyard. Look how BIG this is! (Photo: Angelo D'Annibale)

With Angelo’s ultra-wide display table, he can even accommodate an entire Italian piazza, or courtyard. Look how BIG this is! Click to enlarge. (Photo: Angelo D’Annibale)

A closeup of Angelo's city center reveals the use of real mini-bricks, a candlestick holder converted into a table, complete with record player and cards. FanTASTIC! (Photo: Angelo D'Annibale)

A closeup of Angelo’s diorama reveals his use of real bricks, miniature statuary, a candlestick holder that’s been converted into a table, a custom 1:6 scale record player and playing cards. Fan-TASTIC! (Photo: Angelo D’Annibale)

Now THIS is powerful. The use of that scale-correct T-Rex head charging Angelo's Mobile Support Vehicle is simply breathtaking! (Photo: Angelo D'Annibale)

WOW. The use of a giant (scale-correct) T-Rex head charging towards Angelo’s Mobile Support Vehicle is simply breathtaking. Look out, Joe! (Photo: Angelo D’Annibale)

“Fortunately, our home was over 125 years old and in a few years we decided to put on an addition. You can imagine my excitement! I drew up plans and designed how I wanted to set up the new 20′ x 20′ room. I added built-in tables as well, because I knew I wanted to showcase as much as possible, especially the GIjOEs that started it all for me—the Adventure Team!

The main table in my new Joe Room is currently dedicated to my favorite, the ‘Search for The Stolen Idol’ Adventure Team set. I installed a wallpaper mural that had a huge Buddha on it as the backdrop and designed the rest if the display table around it. The other tables are ‘fluid’ and allow me to change their set-ups to display a wide variety of scenes and figures.”

Large props like this Mayan calander can be used to create almost "instant dioramas." Plunk it down amidst rocks, plants and dirt, and you're good to go—EXPLORING! (Photo: Angelo D'Annibale)

Large props like this Mayan calendar can be used to create almost “instant dioramas.” Plunk it down amidst rocks, plants and dirt, and you’re good to go—EXPLORING! (Photo: Angelo D’Annibale)

Making the most of current outdoor conditions, D'Annibale routinely stages excellent "photo ops" such as this exciting snow rescue scene. (Photo: Angelo Annidale)

Making the most of current outdoor conditions, D’Annibale routinely stages excellent “photo ops” such as this exciting Snow Rescue Adventure. (Photo: Angelo D’Annidale)

“I continually look for new ideas online, especially over at The Trenches and Patches of Pride. I’ve discovered that there is a huge following for GIjOE and that what people are doing with 1:6 scale customs is amazing. Last year, I saw a post on the Trenches about a rope bridge that someone had made out of a wooden laundry drying rack. Boy, that was cool! A few days later, I was at one of my favorite spots for finding diorama ‘stuff’ (a local $1 store) and I found some bamboo garden stakes. They were the perfect diameter to make an AWESOME bridge. It would be some work, sure, but I was up to the challenge.”

If you can dream it, you can do it! Angelo's handcrafted, 1:6 scale bamboo and rope bridge sure verify that. Simply mind-BOGGLING! (Photo: Angelo D'Annibale)

Angelo’s handcrafted, 1:6 scale bamboo and rope bridge verifies the veracity of that age-old customizing truism: If you can DREAM it—you can BUILD it! (Photo: Angelo D’Annibale)

“First, I cut the bamboo into 4” lengths and then drilled tiny little holes into each one. I was determined that my bridge would be big—REALLY big. I have a small creek in our backyard and I thought, ‘Hmm, if I could just make it long enough, I could stretch it all the way across (it’s 10 feet wide so that’s a ton of bamboo)!

Well, after cramped hands, and many bamboo splinters, I finished the bridge. I was SO excited. Cut to A.C.Moore, another awesome store for dioramas. I am looking at the plastic animals that they have and spot what appears to be a gorilla that is (almost) 1:6 scale. I thought, it’s ‘GIjOE AT Pygmy Gorilla’ adventure time!

This incredibly powerful image was created with Angelo's outstanding bamboo/rope bridge...and a rubber gorilla. But BOY, is it GREAT! (Photo: Angelo D'Annibale)

This powerful image of Angelo’s 1:6 scale Pygmy Gorilla was artfully posed and photographed utilizing his outstanding bamboo bridge—and a little rubber gorilla. Simple? Yes. But BOY—does it look GREAT! (Photo: Angelo D’Annibale)

“When I got home, I ran to the backyard with iPad in hand and after taking a bazillion pictures, I decided to share what I had created. I post the bridge with Joe and the gorilla on The Trenches…and I received a great deal of positive feedback! What an incentive positive feedback is! You want my advice? SHARE what you have, what you have done, and what you are proud of. People should see what you can do!”

Angelo's scratch-built wagon is a real show-stopper. He researched it, planned it—and MADE it! (Photo: Angelo D'Annibale)

Angelo’s scratch-built wagon is a real show-stopper. How did he do it? First he researched it, then he planned it—and then MADE it. Any more questions? (Photo: Angelo D’Annibale)

“I constantly search the internet for pictures of WWII scenes and I look through magazines every time we go to Barnes and Noble. I can’t believe all the talented individuals out there! The One Sixth Division and Sixth Army Group are two online forums that have given me MANY ideas and inspired me to create ever-better dioramas. Nevertheless, I feel my work pales in comparison to some of the more talented folks whose work I have witnessed and have to give them all credit for helping me.”

Angelo also built this smaller pull-cart, but it is no less detailed or well-made than the wagon. Absolutely WONDERFUL! (Photo: Angelo D'Annibale)

Angelo also built this smaller push-pull cart, but it’s no less detailed or in any way inferior to the larger wagons. He even made the little potatoes himself. WONDERFUL! (Photo: Angelo D’Annibale)

It's amazing what Angelo can do with a rather lame Max Steel helo, some flat-black paint and a lot of creativity. WHOOSH! (Photo: Angelo D'Annibale)

Wouldn’t you buy one of these if Hasbro offered it? WOW! It’s amazing what Angelo can do with just an old Max Steel helo, some flat-black paint and a dash of creativity. WHOOSH! (Photo: Angelo D’Annibale)

Do you walk past cool props like this Buddha head and not give them a second thought? Well, slow down and THINK. How cool is THIS?! (Photo: Angelo D'Annibale)

Do you ever walk right past nifty props like this garden Buddha head? What a great piece for outdoor adventures! (Photo: Angelo D’Annibale)

It's amazing how effective 2-D wallpaper backdrop can be to create an instant mood for your foreground action. (Photo: Angelo D'Annibale)

It’s amazing how effective a simple 2-D wallpaper backdrop can be in creating an instant mood for your GIjOE’s 1:6 scale foreground action. Superb! (Photo: Angelo D’Annibale)

Take time to take it all in: The palm trees, the walls, the desert, the camel, the pyramid, it's a MAGNIFICENT! (Photo: Angelo D'Annibale)

That’s right…Take all the time you need to take this all in: The palm trees, the walls, the desert, the camel, the pyramid, it’s all MAGNIFICENT! (Photo: Angelo D’Annibale)

Planet of the Apes? Angelo's jungle bridge masterpiece is the stage for a tense stand-off between a mighty silverback gorilla and Adventurer Joe (who's beginning to question hi decision to bring a camera instead of his trusty sidearm). D'oh! (Photo: Angelo D'Annibale)

Planet of the Apes? D’Annibale’s stunning 1:6 scale jungle bridge provides the perfect setting for a tense stand-off between his “Pygmy” Silverback Gorilla and intrepid “Adventurer Joe” (who’s now beginning to question his decision to pack a camera INSTEAD of a .45 sidearm). D’oh! (Photo: Angelo D’Annibale)

Bottom Line: Our sincerest thanks to Angelo D’Annibale for his help with this article. Normally, we’d close with a few witty words of summation, but today we turn it over to Angelo, who writes:

“Hello Mark, I wanted to end by thanking you again for allowing me the opportunity to share what I have done. I feel very strongly about the 1:6 hobby and wanted to share how it all started with me and where it has gone. Thanks for all you do for the hobby with your sites. Have fun, be creative, ask questions, look and research, and always (and most importantly)—NEVER grow up!” —Angelo D’Annibale

Tagged

19 thoughts on “5th Grade Teacher is Also a Master Customizer and Creator of 1:6 Scale “Natural Environment” Props, Structures and Dioramas For G.I. Joes

  1. Tim Weedn says:

    Inspiring piece. Nice work!

  2. GIJOEBILL says:

    I have been watching Angelo’s work for some time now and just love the work he does!!
    Great eye for detail!! Thanks for sharing.

  3. Great work, Angelo! Indeed inspiring.

  4. Steve Polzak says:

    Angelo, what can one say? But…FANTASTIC! Best of luck and thanks for showing us “what you can do!”

  5. Joey tutor says:

    Truly an artistic and imaginative man, wish I had half of his talent. Great to have someone like this in the Joenation.

  6. Anonymous says:

    It’s great to see a fellow Trencher featured here, especially one whose work has left me in awe and just a bit jealous of his talent and eye for detail.

    Now, a question for Mr. D’Annibale – Do you ever use your creations or dioramas as a teaching aid in your classes? I know something like that certainly would have gotten my attention when I was a child.

  7. Angelo says:

    First, thank you very much for all the praise and compliments! It is very much appreciated and means a lot. As for incorporating dioramas and hands-on building in the classroom…all the time! When I was in school, I was bored sitting behind a desk all day. I tell my students often of a high school science teacher who would put an overhead sheet with notes up for the students to copy down while he read the newspaper, then when he turned the page, he would put up another page of notes…ahhh…science? I think not!

    I teach science and social studies to 5th graders in Ballston Spa, and they never sit for the entire class! The students work on hands-on projects, experiments and even dramatic performances. My building with the students began when I started teaching at a private school in Saratoga and the students built a longhouse after we studied about the Native Americans:
    http://alb.merlinone.net/mweb/wmsql.wm.request?oneimage&imageid=5894247

    The students bring in extra credit dioramas throughout the year. I have had gold rush long toms built, a beautiful salt dough of the Oregan Trail, and many others. As part of our culminating activity on the ancient civilizations of Latin America, the students built chinampas (floating gardens of the Aztecs), suspension bridges of the Incas and temples of the Mayans and Aztecs. Many of the projects were entered in this years Saratoga County Fair and one of the students won first place! A few years ago, the students even sent eggs into space…really…here’s a link:
    http://www.nasa.gov/audience/foreducators/ssep-ballston-spa-new-york.html

    I could go on and on, but this is all part of another story! Thanks again everyone!

  8. Deep Diver 61 says:

    Angelo’s work is top notch and his comic stories are the best!

  9. Gary says:

    I love it! Being a 1:6 scale admirer myself, I am always inspired by the works and talents of fellow 1:6’ers. GREAT STUFF, Angelo! You have given me so many cool ideas. I love the usage of normal everyday stuff to create the feel and look we are all trying to capture. Love the Buddha head! Thanks for sharing. GREAT WORK!!! —Gary

  10. Angelo’s stuff always inspires me! I always wanted to use my collection to teach kids about history but the schools around here do not allow guns even as toys!

  11. Paul says:

    I just found this site and I must say how AWESOME the work Angelo has done is. Amazing! It brings back so many memories. As a child, I had a GIjOE and many adventures followed. Now, I have quite a few 1/6th scale figures (all military) as well as a 1/6th scale Tiger 1 (RC) tank. After seeing what you have done, I might have to get started on a diorama. Top work! 10 out of 10 stars. Cheers from Australia!

  12. Edward kellogg says:

    I can’t tell you how much I enjoyed reading about Angelo’s collection. I love collecting one-sixth scale figures, but REALLY enjoy the custom dioramas. I’m on Instagram, but you can also Google no_ken_dolls to get an idea of some of the customs I have put together.

  13. hobgoblin238 says:

    I do not do much GI JOE as of yet but I do customs for other things. Would love to post some here if you do not mind. This is just one of them. The others are featured at the same blog… http://monstercafesaltillo.blogspot.mx/2015/07/land-of-lost-centerpiece.html

  14. Robert Rodden says:

    Amazing! I keep threatening to begin a diorama and then giving up. But what you’ve done has inspired me again!

  15. David Mccann says:

    I love it great work

  16. Scott says:

    Hello! I just finished perusing your custom Joe projects… AWESOME! In reading I was struck how similar our obsession in starting was. I missed out too, being born in 1970. Same as you, I collected the Yo Joe (sold them all, rebought/built, sold again). 12-inch GIjOE always was my favorite. Now I have an insane collection from 64-10. Lots of mods to restore and expand play using odds and bits from model kits, etc. (I have a 5 year-old to share with now). I recently started building 70’s Joe to 80’s Joe specs. Have my Gung-Ho and Shipwreck in 1975 muscle body forms. So sick! Thanks for the share and mod ideas. My thinking is that 3D printers are now our best friends too.

    Best regards and respect for your Joe craziness. I understand it completely.

  17. Vicki says:

    YOU ARE SO TALENTED and IMAGINATIVE, I’m so glad that you’ve shared your story and so many wonderful pictures. I find your work so impressive, the details are amazing, nothing is overlooked.

  18. Anonymous says:

    Just wow—awesome work—and best GI Joe sets ever!!!!!!!!

Leave a comment