Joelanta.com: New Japanese “Same-Name” Website Creates Confusion (and Hunger) for G.I. Joe Fans

As this screenshot reveals, GIjOE fans visiting the Joelanta.com website may come away with the impression that the famous Atlanta toy show has moved to Japan and is planning on serving delicious ice cream treats! (Screenshot: Joelanta.com)

As this screenshot reveals, GIjOE fans visiting the Joelanta.com website may come away with the impression that the famous Atlanta toy show is moving to Japan and planning to switch its focus from toys and action figures to fresh-baked muffins and delicious ice cream treats. Mmm…Really? (Screenshot: Joelanta.com)

What a difference those three little letters at the end of a URL can make. For GIjOE fans and collectors searching online for information about next month’s big show in Atlanta, GA, the Joelanta.com website abruptly redirects them from the “southern comforts” of Georgia, to, of all places—a baking and desserts website in Japan!

A closeup of some of the "Japanese Joelanta" rolls from a recipe found on the Joelanta.com website. (Photo: Joelanta.com)

A closeup of some of the “Japanese Joelanta” rolls from a recipe found on the Joelanta.com website. (Photo: Joelanta.com)

Yes, in some weird, “twist of internet fate,” Joelanta.com has become a Japanese-language website about sweet treats and desserts! Browsing the site (Mmm…), we discovered lists of recipes (all in Japanese), close-up photos, and links to a great variety of dessert “intel,” but NOTHING about an upcoming GIjOE show in the U.S. For example, “Recipe #2,” found HERE takes wannabe bakers (and hungry Joeheads) to a page describing how to bake mouth-watering rolls and biscuits. Yes, that’s very tasty. But informative about Joelanta? No.

At this time, it’s not known if the Joelanta.com website was put up as a prank, as a failed Far-East attempt at “hacking,” as some sort of “placeholder” website for a company in Japan with a VERY similar name, or is just a WEIRD coincidence. Whatever the reason, we hope any resulting confusion causes only minor inconvenience for the wonderful organizers of Joelanta. Fortunately, their ACTUAL website for the show can still be found (just three letters away) at:  Joelanta.org,

Bottom Line: You know, the more we look at Joelanta.com, the more we love those rolls, desserts and ice cream treats. Maybe the two groups could combine forces for some sort of a “Joes & Jelly Doughnuts” show next year? Mmm…Doughnuts… Until such time, don’t forget you can always find delicious 1:6 scale pizza and REAL bread treats for your Joes over on the PoP site HERE.

joelogo4

6 thoughts on “Joelanta.com: New Japanese “Same-Name” Website Creates Confusion (and Hunger) for G.I. Joe Fans

  1. Chung Kim says:

    Que 80’s music . . .

    I’m turning Japanese
    I think I’m turning Japanese
    I really think so
    Turning Japanese
    I think I’m turning Japanese
    I really think so
    I’m turning Japanese
    I think I’m turning Japanese
    I really think so
    Turning Japanese
    I think I’m turning Japanese
    I really think so

    NOTE: This reply was by a Korean.

    • Wayne Faucher says:

      LOVE the Vapors. That whole album, New Clear Days is an absolute classic! The actual meaning of the above song has even LESS to do with GI Joe than MY post, but I am reminded of my college days so infrequently I just had to say something.

      Getting back to the original story; Hot biscuits… mmmm. Ok, now I’m totally distracted. GI Joe, Biscuits and the Vapors. Mark, I think this is the best site ever….

  2. Mike Troutt says:

    They used to use Joelanta.com a few years ago. Then it moved to .org. Not sure why they wouldn’t own both and have one redirect from the other. Of course I also remember that the site would sometimes go dead for weeks or months between shows.

  3. kneonknight says:

    Hmmm…G.I. Joe, snacks, and that really awful music we all loved in the 80s. Throw in Kate Upton and a six pack of Guinness, and that’s as close to Heaven as I’ll ever get.

  4. Tanker says:

    The Joelanta.com URL was stolen out from under the organization by the company currently advertising buns and rolls. I tried to buy the site back and they wanted 60$ so I made a bid and it skyrocketed to 600$. I talked to David and we both were trying to figure out what to do and I offered up the Joelanta.org URL which I owned. I bought it as a back-up for the Joelanta.com site.

  5. kneonknight says:

    @Tanker

    Would donations to the cause be helpful, or would it just drive the price up? I don’t attend most conventions, and have cancelled my membership to the “official” club, but I definitely want to support the hobby at large.

Leave a Reply

