“To Open, Or Not to Open.” That is the Question All G.I. JOE Collectors Must Ask Themselves.

GIjOE fans have an almost visceral reaction to the sight of rows upon rows of unopened, mint-in-box GIjOEs like those found in Johnnie Shedrick’s unusual MIB collection. (Photo: Johnnie Shedrick)

Ohio’s Johnnie Shedrick said “NO” starting in 1996…

Sure, we’ve all seen collections of GIjOEs displayed proudly inside glass cabinets, professionally lit with track lights and arranged for maximum “WOW” effect. Thousands more are set-up in dioramas around the world, getting dusty or “weathered” with custom paint jobs. Even more are trampled, mutilated or even blown-up, all in the name of play and Joe FUN.

But how many GIjOE fans and collectors out there have the intestinal fortitude…the self-restaint…the complete CONTROL required to leave their beloved figures inside their original boxes? Never to be played with? As if they were some sort of “Mint-in-Box Masters?”

Meet one such “MIB Master;” Johnnie Shedrick of Elyria, Ohio, has amassed an astounding, 500+ MIB GIjOE collection over the last decade and a half. He takes NOTHING out. He sets NOTHING up. Every Joe or vehicle is simply stacked and stored away. Only his family or visitors have ever seen his collection—until now.

Starting today, Shedrick’s outstanding “time capsule” of a collection is available for viewing online over at the venerated, GIjOE Collections website. The impact of seeing so many unboxed, minty GIjOEs all in one place is absolutely riveting. Other fans may scoff or scream “FREE THE JOES!” But in the near future, Shedrick may become one of the leading experts on “the way it was” when Joes were NEW. To see what Johnnie’s been “hoarding” all these years, jump HERE NOW.

4 thoughts on ““To Open, Or Not to Open.” That is the Question All G.I. JOE Collectors Must Ask Themselves.

  1. Rich says:

    You know, while I respect all of our collectors who keep Joes in their mint box (I’ll admit, some of the packaging of the past two decades are just as good as the figures!), GI Joe was MEANT to be out of the box! Joes thrive when they are held, posed and most of all played with! Sure, my daughters haven’t taken the same liking as I would have wanted, but at least the Joes are still getting out into the yard! Enjoy them!

  2. kneonknight says:

    That is impressive. It will never happen around my house, as I can’t resist opening a new package just to fiddle around with the accessories, check the articulation, and all the other stuff that us “hands on” types do. It’s even more fun with my five year old at hand, as the questions and exclamations of “Wow, cool!” are almost non-stop. The only way I could ever bear to leave a Joe in his pristine box would be if It was an exceptionally rare vintage piece, like a first-run action nurse, and if I had another just like it to open.

    Now, a lot of you may have gasped in horror at the thought of cracking open a factory sealed package, but you should actually be thanking all of us who can’t resist digging into the boxes – the price of MIP items goes up depending on the scarcity (among other factors) and we are increasing the value of your collections by doing so.

    As for me, I can’t imagine owning an item that you must never touch or truly enjoy. I think that is the ultimate expression of your possessions owning you.

    • Anonymous says:

      I disagree with you KneonKnight. I enjoy my GIjOEs as much as collectors that take them out the box. To me, my MIB collection is a time machine that connects me with my childhood. To be able to look at figures the way they were produced and packaged 10 to 20 years ago is simply amazing and fascinating to me.

  3. Unfortunately this is why G.I. Joe collecting is an expensive hobby for me. In order to open a new package I need to have one to keep mint in package. Now, in my case I don’t need to keep every variation MIB, for example when I bought the Xenome alien sets I kept one MIB and opened the others.

Leave a Reply

