First year of GIJOE adventure serial completed

Even the Yeti makes a dramatic appearance in this wide-ranging GIjOE-themed epic. (Photo: Mark Otnes)

Exclusive to The Joe Report…

A daily, GIjOE-themed online serial entitled “A Joe a Day” has recently wrapped its first full year of production. According to its creator, Mark Otnes, it hasn’t always been easy to keep up such a strict production schedule. Here’s what he told The Joe Report…

” Looking back now, I don’t know how I kept up the grinding pace required to get a new panel out every day for an entire year. What was I thinking? <laugh> For a few days there, I got a little behind (due to holidays, illness, etc.) and had to work my backside off to get caught up again. But, it’s been a lot of fun watching the characters develop and I think the story’s been pretty entertaining as well. I can’t thank the fans enough for all their kind words of support.”

One of the serial's most intriguing characters, known only as "Aurora," was recently revealed to be the A-T Commander's daughter! (Photo: Mark Otnes)

Originally created as a way to promote the grand opening of Otnes’ new Patches of Pride (PoP) website on 11/11/11, the serial was scheduled to wrap at the end of 2011. But popularity of the photostory has grown so much that Otnes has agreed to carry it forth into the future indefinitely—with one significant change. While it will retain its original “A Joe a Day” title, the serial will no longer be produced on a daily basis. According to Otnes…

“Increased business here at PoP has forced me to curtail production temporarily while I get caught up with filling orders. I’ve never charged for the serial and keeping the lights on here at Casa Otnes has to take priority. As soon as I’m able, I’ll get back to creating new panels. I know there’s a lot of fans out there waiting to see how this whole “Project Hercules” storyline turns out. And I’m eager to see it as well!”

The entire year's adventure (for 2011) has been archived and is now viewable online for free.
(Photo: Mark Otnes)

If you’ve never seen Otnes’ “Return of the Magnificent 7″ stories, you can easily catch up with them by going to THIS PAGE on his PoP website. And, the entire 365-panel “A Joe a Day” serial (for 2011) has been fully archived into 56 convenient weekly chapters that are available for viewing (free) HERE. With such a large and growing body of work, calls for compiling the entire “A Joe a Day” saga into printed book form have also gained momentum as of late. According to Otnes…

“A full-color graphic novel WOULD be cool. We’ll see. Anything’s possible!”

One thought on “First year of GIJOE adventure serial completed

  1. gordonmayfield says:

    I am amazed at how entertaining and informative these reports have been. In a couple of short weeks, Mark has provided some well written articles, that are every bit as enjoyable to read as any newletter I have ever received. Not only that, but I can read these for free, right at my computer!

    Thanks Mark, and keep up the excellent work!

    Gordon

Leave a Reply

