Brian LaDow’s Custom Adventure Team Vehicles

ladowcustom3

Brian LaDow’s custom AT Jeep, trailer, Sea Wolf Submarine and hoisting crane are absolutely superb in every way and feature ProSeries waterslide decals from Patches of Pride. (All photos: Brian LaDow)

It’s Time for Adventure!

GIjOE fan and customizer, Brian LaDow of Indiana, recently completed an amazing new set of custom vehicles for his AT motor pool. It all started with an old, battered Seawolf submarine, then he added a custom 6-wheel Jeep, tandem 4-wheel trailer, hoisting crane, sub stand and…well, it’s just all so cool, let’s have Brian tell you in his own words…

“My simple Sea Wolf project kinda got out-of-hand! I originally had the idea to make a trailer for it and then one thing just led to another. In the end, it became the ‘Fantastic Sea Wolf Tandem Trailer and Dually Jeep Deployment Vehicle.’

Click to enlarge.

I already had the Patches of Pride (PoP) decal sets for my Hummer and Littlebird helicopter, but I never got around to working on those projects. So when I decided to customize my Jeep and trailer instead, I combined and used the decals from those two sets. I also bought the decal set for the Sea Wolf from PoP and used them in this project as well. I really prefer PoP’s ProLine waterslide decals and that is what I used throughout.

Click to enlarge.

Click to enlarge.

One note about the Sea Wolf decal set, I used a larger size AT symbol on the sub canopy. I thought the larger one looked better than the small one that comes with the set. It may not be accurate from the original, but I just thought it looked better. As I was working on the Sea Wolf, I was thinking it would be cool to tow it on a trailer. With its new paint job and custom waterslide decals this ‘Wolf was never going in the water!

So, I started thinking of something like a flatbed custom, using the wheels and tires from a Hasbro 5-star Jeep. As the ideas started to form, it just hit me that by joining two 5-Star trailers, I could make one big enough for the sub. Even though I already had a yellow Jeep, I thought it would be cool to make a vintage one to go with the new tandem trailer. Kaber had been helping  me a lot on this project and helped me to get a Jeep and we were discussing different customizing ideas and we both thought making a dually would be very cool.

Click to enlarge.

Later, I didn’t like the way the Sea Wolf looked just wobbling on the table top, so I wanted to make some sort of stand for it that would let it sit level and allow the counterweight on the bottom of the hull to extend.

Again, I really need to acknowledge all the help Kaber has been to me on this project. I might have given up several times if he hadn’t been ready and willing to offer encouragement and exchange of ideas and help in the design and construction. Many times when I thought I was finished, he would offer an idea of what I could do to make it better. I have a tendency to cut corners and rush through a project. He kept me honest and helped me to do the best I could. Thanks Kaber!!! I really couldn’t have done this without all of his help and encouragement.” –Brian LaDow

Bottom Line: These are amazing vehicles, Brian. You and Kaber have done a superb job. Keep up the good work and don’t hesitate to submit more photos of future projects. Thanks!

2 thoughts on “Brian LaDow’s Custom Adventure Team Vehicles

  1. Joseph Benedetto says:

    This is a really stunning work, Brian — it fulfills a concept that was always lacking in the original Joe sets but makes so much sense that you just sit there staring at the pictures thinking “Man, I wish *I* had one of those…!” Just an awesome job.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Great job! Just curious how much plastistruct you used on the project, what kind of glue did you use? And did you use any special tools?

Leave a Reply

